The stitching of the green

It’s a rainy gray day and our house is lamp-lit, so these colors aren’t true …

but I wanted to post this for St Patrick’s Day. Who knows, I might just replace this image with another when the weather is a little more agreeable.

Meantime, here’s a peek at the other side …

I love how the seams lay flat when they are whipstitched … or is that supposed to be “lie flat”? Where are Strunk and White when you need them?

One other thing that I keep forgetting to post … the Wildflower Center is collaborating with Cornell on a live Owl Cam of Athena, the great horned owl that has been nesting at the same spot for over ten years …

She’s looking a bit nap-ish at the moment, but if you take a peek in the evening she’s apt to be a little more active (last night we got to see her fly in after taking a break from brooding).

18 thoughts on “The stitching of the green

  1. Aw, love the greens! I was thinking I could weave mostly green Medicine Bags for next year, but right now I’m on to something else. Your fabrics within this block are charming.
    How fun to see the owl. I wish I could spot the one that lives around here!

    Like

    1. Don used to call owls in to one of our houses in Williamsburg … they would perch on 70′ tulip poplars within sight of our back deck … truly magical

      I’m wondering if the greens washed out in the photo due to not having another color to work with … something to consider

      Like

  2. Lovely greens & excited about Athena cam. I remember seeing her & chicks there live some years ago. Karlie & I went to Lady Bird lots of times.
    All the best,
    Connie
    Sent from my iPad

    Like

    1. going to the Wildflower Center with the grandkids is a great way to see it from another angle … such a special place, especially now that Don goes down research rabbit holes and brings home the best book recommendations

      Like

  3. The stitching of the green wraps around me in calm and speaks of the coming of spring.. The leafy printed strip as well as the tribal looking print, right above the bottom center strip reminds me of Maui…

    Owls are mysterious and magical (Harry Potter fan!). How great to have an owl cam. When we lived in Texas, we enjoyed many a day and a Christmas evening at the Wildflower Center.

    Like

    1. I thought of you all day as I stitched one green strip after another … and I was properly attired in green pants and a green Life is Good tee that reads “Spread Good Vibes”

      Like

  4. Love the spring pinks and greens together, especially that striped pink, with touches of blue. Who knew that owls might nest on the ground? A friend was forever correcting me on lie, lay… so now I work hard to never say any of them around her. “I was horizontal on the couch.”

    Like

Leave a comment